Buying Auto Insurance with a DWI Conviction
In North Carolina, all drug- and alcohol-related driving offenses are recorded as a DWI, or driving while impaired. The state determines your condition by using your blood alcohol concentration, or BAC, which must be no more than 0.08 percent for adults ages 21 and older, 0.04 percent for commercial drivers and 0.04 percent for adults with a prior DWI on their record.
What does being convicted of a DWI mean for you?
A judge will look at the nature of the offense, your BAC, your age and your driving record to issue penalties such as fines, jail time, probation, community service and license suspension or revocation. Penalties are generally based on the “level” of the offense, though they can be altered at the judge’s discretion. Each level involves the immediate suspension of your driver’s license for 30 days, as well as the following:
· Level 5: Up to a $200 fine and 24 hours to 60 days in jail
· Level 4: Up to a $500 fine and 48 hours to 120 days in jail
· Level 3: Up to a $1,000 fine and 72 hours to 6 months in jail
· Level 2: Up to a $2,000 fine and 7 days to 12 months in jail
· Level 1: Up to a $4,000 fine and 30 days to 24 months in jail
· Aggravated Level 1: Up to a $10,000 fine, 12 months to 36 months in jail and monitored abstaining from alcohol after prison release for up to 4 months
Additionally, if you are convicted of a second DWI while your license is already suspended or revoked, the state of North Carolina can seize and sell your car.
What does a DWI mean for your future auto insurance rates?
While North Carolina does not require you to file an SR-22 form, it is very likely that your future auto insurance rates will be significantly higher than those of drivers who have not been convicted of a DWI. Why? Drivers who are convicted of a DWI are considered high-risk drivers and insurance companies require more money from them to cover the added risk.
Our experienced agents are well-versed in assisting customers with similar auto insurance needs. We’ll evaluate your circumstances, no matter how high the risk, and scour our network of insurance providers to find you a suitable policy for the lowest price possible. Give us a call today!
Get the coverage you need for the price you want. Call ACF Insurance Services, Inc. at (919) 661-1100 for more information on North Carolina DUI insurance.